Nalchhar by-election ends peacefully with record turnout

By Our Correspondent

Agartala, Jun 12, 2012 : Amidst tight security the by-election to Nalchhar assembly constituency ended in peaceful atmosphere with recorded turnout of about 93.14 percent.

The fate of the candidates who contested the by-poll is now sealed in EVMs.

Returning Officer (RO) Shankar Chakraborty said, massive turnout had been recorded in all booths of the assembly segment and till the completion of polling there was no untoward incident in any part of the constituency.

Till 5 PM, a total of 93.14 percent electors of total 33392 electors cast their votes today in 38 booths by EVMs, but after 5 PM polling is going on in four to five booths for long queues of voters, said Chakraborty.

He hoped that more than 95 percent of cast votes would be recorded after adding the remaining polled votes of five booths.

By-election to Nalchhar Assembly constituency began this morning on peaceful note. Massive security arrangements were made with TSR, BSF CRPF along with police.

Unprecedented security blanket was thrown in the assembly for free and fair elections. Four observers were also put in place to ensure the free poll.

Sipahijala District Magistrate had also imposed Section 144 to ensure a free and fair poll.

Entire assembly segment of Nalchhar was divided in four civil sectors and four police sectors headed by police inspectors. A total of six companies of BSF personnel were deployed to ensure security in all the polling booths for peaceful conduct of election. The adjoining Indo-Bangla border was also sealed and massive deployment of police, CRPF and TSR personnel were made to maintain the law and order situation.

Besides, four election observers were deputed to supervise the election process.

The counting of polled votes would begin on June 15 with the entire process to be completed by June 18.

The poll battle has been virtually confined to two traditional rivals Congress and CPM.

You can post your comments below  
Name * :  
e-mail * :  
Address :  
Comments * :  
Posted comments
Till now no approved comments is available.