RANJI: Tripura achieve season's first outright win

By Our Correspondent

Agartala, Dec 04, 2012 : Tripura beat strong side Himachal Pradesh by 169 runs in the Ranji trophy (Group-C) 4-day match that ended at Atal Bihari Vajpayee stadium in Nadaun, Himachal Pradesh on December 04, 2012.

Last year Himachal Pradesh defeated Tripura by an innings and 15 runs at MBB stadium in Agartala. Ajay Ratra was the skipper of that winning side. Both the teams were in Plate Group-A.

In the final day of the match, the visitors had set a target of 359 to win for the home team in 76 overs with 20 mandatory overs as extra. But in front of disciplined bowling of Tripura; they bundled out scoring 189 in 60 overs. Paras Dogra made an unbeaten 105 which had 19 fours facing 172 balls.

Sanjay Majumder and Rana Datta grabbed three wickets each while Syed Abbas Ali got two. Timir Chanda and Manisankar Murasingh shared one wicket each.

Earlier, Tripura made 441 in the first innings and 177 in the second innings while Himachal Pradesh 260 in the first innings. Syed Abbas Ali(68), Abhijit Dey(18) and Manisankar Murasingh(63) were the only double digit scorers in Tripura second innings.

Subhrajit Roy(111), Udit Patel(30), Syed AbbasAli(83), skipper Ajay Ratra(56), Abhijit Dey(45), Manisankar Murasingh(29), Tushar Saha(28) and Rana Datta were the remarkable scorers for Tripura first innings.

Tripura earned six points from the match and Himachal Pradesh zero. Tripura ranked sixth place out of nine teams with eight points from one win, one lost and two drew without first innings lead matches.

Tripura will play next three home matches against Jharkhand, Kerala and Goa on December 08, December 15 and December 22 respectively.

You can post your comments below  
Name * :  
e-mail * :  
Address :  
Comments * :  
Posted comments
Till now no approved comments is available.